2016 Barnes and Mullen Award Winners Announced!

May 4, 2016
Caroline Toy receives her award from Pat Mullen and Katey Borland

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2016 Patrick B. Mullen Paper Prize for best graduate student paper and the 2016 Daniel R. Barnes Prize for best undergraduate student paper in Folklore this year. 

Rachel Hopkin Receives AFS Foodways Section Award

April 13, 2016
Rachel Hopkin

This year, the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society (AFS) named student folklorist Rachel Hopkin of Ohio State University, as the 2016 recipient of its prestigious Sue Samuelson Award for Foodways Scholarship.

Amanda Randhawa receives Fulbright

March 31, 2016
Amanda Randhawa

Amanda Randhawa was selected as a 2016-2017 William J. Fulbright scholar to India. Amanda's work as a Fulbright-Nehru research scholar will draw heavily on her background as a South Asianist trained in Tamil, Punjabi, and Hindi languages.

Joanna Spanos Receives Above and Beyond Buckeye Award

March 22, 2016
Joanna Spanos receiving her award from Manderscheid

Congratulations to Joanna Spanos, CFS alumni and academic advisor for the ASC honors program, who has been the winner of the February 2016 Above and Beyond Buckeye Award! She was nominated by Lindsey Thaler, director of undergraduate studi