Ohio State nav bar

Society for Ethnomusicology 51st Annual Conference (2007)

The Society for Ethnomusicology 51st Annual Conference, held in the Hyatt on Capital Square in downtown Columbus from October 25th-28th, 2007, focuses on Music, War, and Reconciliation. Among the folklorists in attendance will be Judy McCulloh, Carol Silverman, Jason B. Jackson, Deborah Kapchan, Alan Burdette, Lucy Long, Doris Dyen, Michael Taft, Cathy Kerst; OSU's own Tim Lloyd, Chan Park, and Daniel Avorgbedor; and current AFS president Bill Ivey (see below) On Wednesday, October 24, a pre-conference symposium will be held on new directions in ethnomusicology. For information, see their Ethnomusicology website.

On Saturday, October 27, don't miss Bill Ivey, who will give the Charles Seeger Lecture to the ethnomusicologists, at Weigel Hall from 4:15 to 5:30 pm. Ivey is President of the American Folklore Society, former Chair of the National Endowment for the Arts, and current Director of the Curb Center for Art, Enterprise, and Public Policy at Vanderbilt University. His new book, Arts, Inc.: How Greed and Neglect Have Destroyed Our Cultural Rights, will be published by the University of California Press in 2008.